Ratings based on 394 Verified Reviews

2.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
2.7 Room cleanliness
2.8 Service & staff
2.7 Room comfort
2.5 Hotel condition
AARP Travel Center Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 16, 2020 on Expedia
The building is not like in the pictures. The hotel has a bad smell, it's completely dirty, the rooms and the bathroom aren't cleaned up. The service is very poor.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 18, 2020 by Sweden House Hotel, Hotel Management
Dear guest, we're sorry to hear you were unhappy with your experience, thank you for staying with us and for your feedback!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Jose

Posted Jan 8, 2020 on Expedia
Worst stay at a “hotel”. Will not be recommending or booking here again..pictures don’t match AT ALL!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 8, 2020 by Sweden House Hotel, Hotel Management
Dear Alejandra, we're sorry to hear you were unhappy with your experience. Thank you for staying with us and for your feedback!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 18, 2019 on Expedia
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 21, 2019 by Sweden House Hotel, Hotel Management
Dear guest, we're sorry you were unhappy with your stay. Thank you for staying with us and for your feedback!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Posted Dec 18, 2019 on Expedia
The WORST experience of my life!!!! I don’t understand why Expedia has in on the web. This will be my last time booking through Expedia. This was not a hotel,.., it’s a crack house. There’s people doing drugs everywhere. It’s so unsafe. I was scare for my life. I’m a mother of 2 kids. There was people yelling in the hallways and yelling at me, trying to start a fight with me. The room was dirty plus no bathrooms inside the room. You has to share bathrooms with all the druggies. No shampoo no toilet paper. It’s totally not a hotel. I’m so upset with Expedia I called and told them everything that was going on and they said they couldn’t refund my money, so I had to pay full price to move hotel. There’s homeless people outside the building. It’s not only some it’s full of homeless and drug druggies. Never again I’ll book through Expedia. They obviously don’t care about people life’s. If you’re going to promote a hotel make sure it’s something safe for travelers.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 21, 2019 by Sweden House Hotel, Hotel Management
Dear guest, we're sorry you were unhappy with your stay. Thank you for staying with us and for your feedback!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 17, 2019 on Expedia
This hotel is not for the faint of heart. I chose this hotel because of the great price. Pros: very clean, nice and new microwave, mini fridge, small kitchen counter, free upgrade to private bathroom (good thing since shared bath door stated "do not use between 11 pm and 7 AM!), great location in walking distance to Union Square. Cons: nobody around office except for the afternoon when we arrived, no towels in room, soap and shampoo dispensers empty, TV only if you connect with your own computer, tiny with only about a 4' wide walkway between bed and wall, no table or desk and only single plastic chair, no hangers or place to hang clothes, but worst thing is immediate neighborhood. A homeless person tried to push in with me when I was using my key card to enter building and fortunately, I was quick enough to slip in and push door closed on him! The price is good for such a clean place but think hard about no staff around and if you are OK with tight space and lack of ammenities. Oh yeah, I also got a 4" burn on my leg when contacting the incompletely covered heating pipe along the wall when getting out of bed in the dark. Keep your wits about you!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 19, 2019 by Serghei, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you for staying with us and for your feedback!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 12, 2019 on Expedia
Room was not even close to the picture on Expedia. The halls had piles of garbage and the room smelled like urine.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 13, 2019 by Sweden House Hotel, Hotel Management
Dear guest, we're sorry you were unhappy with your experience, we;ll make sure to address the issues reported. Thank you for staying with us and for your feedback!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Posted Dec 11, 2019 on Expedia
My room was given away to others . Can not even check in
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 13, 2019 by Sweden House Hotel, Hotel Management
Dear guest, we're sorry you were unhappy with your experience, we;ll make sure to address the issues reported. Thank you for staying with us and for your feedback!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 11, 2019 on Expedia
I never received back my deposit fee. They are not even answering the phone
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 11, 2019 by Serghei, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, we’re sorry you were unhappy with your experience. Thank you for staying with us and for your feedback!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami

Posted Dec 7, 2019 on Expedia
Horrible do not use this place, avoid many problems there's no people at reception and the one who works with me was high and confuse about rooms and so dirty bathroom
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 7, 2019 by Sweden House Hotel, Hotel Management
Dear John, thank you for your feedback and for staying with us!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kolding, Denmark

Posted Dec 3, 2019 on Expedia
There was no towels, no remote for the tv, the staff seemed bothered by me asking for it. The bed was terrible, we fell out on each side and the middle was upward. The shared bathrooms were dirty, had no hand soap and papertowels at any time during our stay. And also almost never any toilet paper..
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 4, 2019 by Serghei, Hotel Management
Dear Michael, we’re sorry you were unhappy with your experience. Thank you for staying with us and for your feedback!